The Malloreon, Volume Two

Published By: Del Rey

Book Category: Fiction, Science Fiction

Buy From Amazon

Reviewed by Bob Pike CSP, CPAE-Speakers Hall of Fame

I read the two books that are contained in this single volume when they were originally released. It was difficult waiting the 12-18 months between volumes. Each book is well-written, fast-paced, resolves things for the reader -- and then creates another dilemma which leaves the reader hanging -- until the next book hit the bookstores.

The Malloreon Epic Series is the sequel to the equally gripping trilogy, The Belgariad. Eddings creates a mythical world -- the kingdoms of the West and the Angaraks and populates it with noble people you will come to love -- and villains you will justly despise. Good is represented by Garion, farm boy turned warrior king, Belagarath, the 7,000 year old immortal sorcerer, and Belgarath's daughter, the Sorceress Polgara.

Garion becomes King of Riva after slaying the evil God Torak. You will admire his sense of justice and right and wrong as the series evolves. Garion and his wife, Queen CeNedra have an infant son who is kidnapped by Zandramas, the Child of Dark. If he cannot be rescued the boy will be used in a ritual that will make Dark Destiny supreme forever.

In these final two volumes Garion and his companions must reach The Place Which is No More to rescue Garion's son and prevent the Dark Prophecy from being fulfilled. The Seeress of Kell is the only one who can reveal the location, but first Garion and Polgara must fulfill an ancient prophecy.

And the more that Garion and his party learn and accomplish in order to defeat Zandramas, save the world, and rescue the Garion's son, the more they are at risk of having Zandrama's dark magic extract what the group has learned by entering the mind of one of them.

Once again Eddings has continues to spin story lines that keep you reading past the time when you'd promised yourself you would stop. And because the series is now complete you don't have to ration yourself because it will be a long wait for the next installment -- read on, the next and final installment is in the back of the volume.

I highly recommend this series to anyone who loves to see good triumph over evil and sacrifice justly rewarded.

Armchair Interviews says: These are novels that won't disappoint you.

Voted one of the 101 Best Websites For Writers in 2006, 2007, 2008 & 2009